Archie Lee Hooker



Buy Chilling now:

Vinyl CD
  • Label: DixieFrog / Borderline
  • Release: 06 Apr, 2018
  • Catalog No: DFGCD 8804

After locking ourselves away in a studio in the Belgian Ardennes in August of 2016,we are very happy to present to you our newest Album named “Chilling”.

To read what the press has to say about Chilling click here.

What Archie Lee has to say about “Chilling”:

Chilling is a CD expressing some of my life’s ups and downs, which i’d like to take you on a journey through.
I left the plantations of Mississippi at thirteen years of age and headed up north on highway 49 to the bright lights and big city of Memphis Tennessee. I couldn’t believe my eyes looking out of the greyhound as we approached the city. I had never seen paved streets and street lights before. It felt like a different world. Inspired by the Memphis music scene, it didn’t take long before I began singing with my first gospel group “The Marvellous Five”. However, singing the Blues and having some big ass fun finally came about in December of ‘89 when I moved in with my uncle John Lee, the Boogieman himself.

Surrounded by great musicians day in and day out I felt the need to start writing my own music to share my life’s experiences with others. The songs I’ve got reasons and 90 days talk about a darker period of my life which ended with the packing of my blues shoes and embarking on a life changing move to France where I joined “Carl Wyatt & the Delta Voodoo Kings” to tour Europe. Eventually, after carefully choosing the right musicians, my own project was born. The special chemistry within the band led to its name “Archie Lee Hooker & The Coast to Coast Blues Band”. My journey doesn’t end here, but this is my life in music up to this day!

This album is dedicated to the late great John Lee Hooker who would have turned 100 on August 22nd of this year (2017).


Thank you John for all that you taught me! Now sit back, put your feet up and chill!


The CD includes 13 original songs and 4 stories, it will be released on March 16th by DixieFrog.



  1. 90 Days
  2. Love Ain’t No Play Thing
  3. Moaning the Blues
  4. Don’t Tell Mama
  5. Big Ass Fun
  6. Found A Good One
  7. Tennessee Blues
  8. The Roots Of Our Family
  9. Chilling
  10. You Don’t Love Me No More
  11. Blues Shoes
  12. I’ve Got Reasons
  13. Don’t Forget Where You Came From
  14. Your Eyes
  15. Bright Lights Big City
  16. Jockey Blues
  17. Thank You John


You can buy the CD here and the Vinyl here.

Archie Lee Hooker